Outings for October 2017

10/1 (Sun) Mansfield Forehead
From the Stevensville Road trailhead we’ll head up Butler Lodge and Wampahoofus trails to the Forehead of Mt Mansfield, returning via Maple Ridge and Frost Trails. Difficult hike. Moderate pace. 6 miles. 2550′ elevation gain. David Hathaway, david.hathaway.78@gmail.com or 899-9982.

10/7 (Sat) Sterling Pond Canceled
Pretty easy hike from Rt. 108 to Sterling Pond. Dogs welcome, but limit of 6 (please email or call). Meet at 9am at Richmond Park & Ride. Heavy rain cancels. Easy hike. Slow pace. 2.8 miles. 900′ elevation gain. Pam Gillis, gillis1986@gmail.com.

10/8 (Sun) Mt Mansfield
We’ll meet at Underhill State Park and climb Mt Mansfield. Difficult hike. 6 miles. 2500′ elevation gain. Contact leader by 10/4. Adam Heckle, theheckle123@gmail.com or 233-8091.

10/14 (Sat) Raven Ridge
An easy loop hike in the Raven Ridge Natural Area in Monkton. Great views from the ridge, possible wildlife, and caves with a unique and fascinating geology. Easy hike. 2 miles. 400′ elevation gain. Beth Ruskai, mbruskai@gmail.com.

10/15 (Sun) Little Otter Creek to Lake Champlain Paddle
This easy 5 mile (round trip) paddle in Ferrisburgh just south of Lewis Creek and takes us through the Little Otter Creek Management Area so we might see some wildlife. We will put in at the ‘South Slang’ Fish & Wildlife access point off of Hawkins Road. Carpooling will be difficult with boats but email me for the 10 AM meetup location. Easy paddle. 5 miles. Ted Albers, ted@ted-albers.net.

10/21 (Sat) Camels Hump via Forest City
We will ascend the Forest City trail from the Burrows trailhead, hit the summit, then down Burrows. Difficult hike. Strong pace. 5 miles. 2300′ elevation gain. Robynn Albert, robynnalbert@hotmail.com.

10/22 (Sun) Mt Hunger
We’ll hike up Mt. Hunger from the Waterbury Center side of the mountain. This trail goes up pretty steadily with some steep scrambles near the top. Moderate hike. 4.4 miles. 2290′ elevation gain. Kim Farone, kfarone@yahoo.com.

10/29 (Sun) Mt Abe
We’ll climb the Battell Trail to the Battell shelter then along the Long Trail to the summit of Mt. Abe and return the same way Difficult hike. 5.8 miles. 2600′ elevation gain. Contact leader by 10/27. Rich Larsen, larsen007@aol.com or 878-6828.

Comments are closed.